First year of Creative Writing Masters


I did it!  The first year of my two year part-time Creative Writing Masters ended on Friday. Time flies. I handed in an essay, a Portfolio and the first few chapters of my novel. It amounted to over twelve thousand words! I feel much relief.

I will spend the next year writing my first novel. Forty thousand words of this will become my dissertation. I am planning to write as much as possible over the summer, because I will have to go back to work very soon. The good life is coming to an end, but I will still have my chickens.

Here are some of things I have learnt about writing:

– Do not use too many adjectives, because they make writing harder to read. Remove most words ending in ly.

e.g. erratically jumped

– Check you are not repeating words as this is a common mistake with new writers.

e.g. I used golden champagne then golden sunlight in the next sentence.

– Do not use words that mean the same thing.

e.g loud boom noise

More on my novel coming soon…

About batcatz

Creative Writing MA graduate
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for your comment.

